Kids Comics Awards 2014 Winners

June 25, 2014 by  
Filed under Kids' Comics Revolution!, News


The KCR! Kids’ Comics Awards offers kids the opportunity to share their enthusiasm for comics of various styles and formats. Kids cast a vote for their favorite comics and characters across twelve categories, both serious and silly. The ceremony was held at the Kids Read Comics celebration at the Ann Arbor District Library.

*Full length video of the 2014 ceremony coming soon!

The 2014 nominees & winners are:

Favorite Graphic Novel (Adventure):
Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff (First Second)
G-Man: Coming Home by Chris Giarrusso (Image)
The Silver Six by AJ Lieberman & Darren Rawlings (Graphix)
Monster on the Hill by Rob Harrel (Top Shelf)
Mouse Guard: The Black Axe by David Petersen (Archaia)

And the kids chose…
G-Man: Coming Home by Chris Giarrusso (Image)adventure

Favorite Graphic Novel (Humor):
Extreme Babymouse by Jennifer and Matthew Holm (Random House)
Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf)
Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Spelling Trouble by Frank Cammuso (Amulet Books)
Odd Duck by Cecil Castellucci and Sara Varon (First Second)
Stone Rabbit #8 Robot Frenzy by Erik Craddock (Random House)

And the kids chose…
Lunch Lady and the Video Game Villain by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf)humor

Favorite Graphic Novel (Non-Fiction/Myth):
Bluffton by Matt Phelan (Candlewick)
Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party by Nathan Hale (Abrams)
Fairy Tale Comics by Various (First Second)
Poseidon: Earth Shaker by George O’Connor (First Second)
Primates by Jim Ottaviani and Maris Wicks (First Second)

And the kids chose…
Poseidon: Earth Shaker by George O’Connor (First Second)nonfiction

Favorite Comic/Novel Hybrid:
Captain Underpants and the Revolting Revenge of the Radioactive Robo Boxers by Dav Pilkey (Scholastic)
Dork Diaries: Tales of a Not-So-Happy Heartbreaker by Rachel Renee Russell (Aladdin)
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo and K.G. Campbell (Candlewick)
Star Wars: Jedi Academy by Jeffery Brown (Scholastic)
Vordak the Incomprehensible: Time Travel Trouble by Scott Seegert and John Martin (Egmont)

And the kids chose…
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo and K.G. Campbell (Candlewick)hybrid

Favorite Comic Book Series (Licensed/Franchise):
Adventure Time (Boom)
Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Search (Dark Horse)
Batman ‘66 (DC Comics)
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (IDW)
Sonic Universe (Archie)

And the kids chose…
Adventure Time (Boom)licensed

Favorite Comic Book Series (Original/Creator Owned):
Aw, Yeah Comics! By Art Balthazar and Fraco (Aw, Yeah)
Bodie Troll by Jay Fosgitt (Red 5)
Herobear and the Kid by Mike Kunkel (Boom)
Skyward by Jeremy Dale (Action Lab)
Super Dinosaur by Robert Kirkman and Jason Howard (Image)

And the kids chose…
Herobear and the Kid by Mike Kunkel (Boom)creatorowned

Favorite Cartoonist/Author:
Faith Erin Hicks
Jennifer and Matthew Holm
Jeff Kinney
Jeff Smith
Kazu Kibuishi

And the kids chose…
Jeff Kinneyauthor

Favorite Webcomic:
Cucumber Quest by Gigi D.G. (
Gronk by Katie Cook (
Princess at Midnight by Andi Watson (
Saturday Morning Webcartoons by Various (
Yeti 4 Hire by Jeff Crowther (

And the kids chose…
Saturday Morning Webtoons by Various (

Cutest Comic Character:
Babymouse (Babymouse)
Beandog & Nugget (Beandog & Nugget)
Chi (Chi’s Sweet Home)
Little Sister (The Big Wet Balloon)
Ulysses the Squirrel (Flora & Ulysses)

And the kids chose…
Ulysses the Squirrel (Flora & Ulysses)cutest

Best Hair in Comics:
Aphrodite (Olympians series)
Bodie Troll
Delilah Dirk
Johnny Boo
Salem Hyde

And the kids chose…
Johnny Boo by James Kochalkabesthair

Grossest thing in Comics:
Cannibalism (Hazardous Tale: Donner Dinner Party)
Fregley chewing him with his belly button (Diary of Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck)
Pool full of fish (Mermin: Out of Water)

And the kids chose…
Fregley chewing him with his belly button (Diary of Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck)grossest

Congratulations to all the winners!

Photo by Laura Given

The KCR! Awards trophies, photo by Laura Given

See List of 2013 Award Winners.

Kids Comics Awards

KCR Awards banner

On Sunday June 23rd the first ever KCR! Comics Awards ceremony was held at the Kids Read Comics Festival in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The nominees were selected by a committee of teachers, librarians, and retailers, then voted on by kids online and via paper ballots.

Watch the full ceremony here:

KCR Awards group shot 1

The awards themselves were presented as customized LEGO trophies provided by the Ann Arbor District Library, and included a mix of serious and silly categories from Best Graphic Novel to Excellence in Drawing Delicious-Looking Food.

Lego Awards

Dave Roman and Jerzy Drozd were the hosts, and introduced all of the amazing presenters.

Award hosts Dave & Jerzy

House band The O-Matics (fronted by Happyloo cartoonist Mark Mariano) provided live music and sound cues to help keep things moving!

O-Matics Band

Presenters included comics creators Ben Hatke (Zita the Spacegirl), Rafael Rosado (Giants Beware!), Raina Telgemeier (Smile), John Green (Teen Boat!), Dan Mishkin (Amethyst), Thomas Zahler (Love and Capes) and library superstars Scott Robins and Eli Neiburger.

As each winner was announced, the trophies were stolen by evil kidlit villain Vordak the Incomprehensible (played by the book’s illustrator, John Martin)!

Vordak and Aang

Guest presenters also included Aang and Naruto, performed by Kevin Coppa (Puppetbenders). Sadly, because of their felt arms, these heroes couldn’t stop Vordak from continuing to take the awards from the podium!

Kid Cartoonists

The final award for “Best Cartoonist/Author” was presented by three talented young artists, Natalia, Olivia, and Ellie (who had also exhibited at the Kids Read Comics festival). The trio tried their best to stop Vordak but were no match for his nefarious tricks!

Doctor saves the day

Luckily, the day was saved thanks to a surprise visit from Doctor Who (played by Kevin Coppa), who convinced the thieving Vordak to come along in his time traveling TARDIS and deliver the trophies to their rightful owners.

Dave Roman and Kevin Coppa

The entire ceremony was filmed in front of a live audience, and will hopefully be posted online soon!

Huge thanks to all the presenters and performers, AADL for hosting, Chris Duffy and Nickelodeon Magazine for inspiring, everyone who voted, and the teachers and librarians who encouraged kids to vote!
Let’s do this again, next year!